17
Oct
09

Anonymity, Gender Experiments, and Animal Masks.

In today’s paper Scott Meeker recounted the difference between the Globe’s commenting system, which is completely anonymous, and that of Facebook, which is completely not. It boils down to this. (Link NSFW)

However, I disagree with Scott in that I think anonymity on the internet is a feature, not a bug.  I don’t think we should have our birth names, faces and contact info attached to our opinions in order to validate them, like on Facebook. Is someone cowardly because they want to conceal their political or religious convictions from, say, potential or current employers, or whoever? You only need to know a commenter’s real identity if they’re doing something illegal; that’s what IP addresses are for.  Otherwise, whatever else besides the person’s username is up to them to vomit onto the keyboard.

If it’s a decrease in sock puppetry the Globe is after, it’d be best to have some sort of registration system in place for Globe comments that’s a happy medium between Facebook and their current system. I’m less concerned with knowing who a commenter is, and more concerned with telling one commenter from another. You can’t tell who is who if you’re free to change your name with every comment.  A simple username and a password would do wonders in deterring such things.

However, here’s one neat thing about the current comment system: the ability to effortlessly conduct quasi-scientific experiments in gender discrimination.

You may have noticed by now that my name is not really Johnny Kaje. I have several reasons for using this name, but the main one is that I love messing with people’s gender assumptions. When you use a gender neutral username*, or a masculine name(or a feminine name if you’re a dude),  you will notice that people treat you differently.  How differently? It depends on the audience.

Discussion on Globe comment sections is anything but civil, and we like it that way. Sometimes I would bounce between my pseudonym and my real name just to see if there was any difference based on gender**.  If they assumed I was male, conservative combatants attacked on the lines of “stupid” or “smart-alec.”  When I used my real name, tactics changed. I’m no longer “stupid,” but “crazy.” “Smart alec” is swapped with “brazen”. Several told me I should never breed, which never happened when I posted while I was “Kaje”. Apparently men do not reproduce? And on and on. It’s very subtle, but the general theme is Girl Me gets treatment that is simultaneously more infantilizing and more vicious than the treatment Boy Me gets.

It could have been worse, though. The blogosphere is full of horror stories of women who foolishly forgot to hang up their girls parts in the closet before they logged onto Blogger. Just look at what happened to Kathy Sierra. Call me cowardly, or a threat to feminist solidarity, but the truth is I simply didn’t want to see rape threats in my inbox, or a doctored photo of me with a noose around my neck. I just used a traditionally male name and let people assume as they wished***.

I remain Johnny Kaje, because I’m too attached to the name. Even after I revealed my true identity to the editors of the Globe, they still call me Kaje whenever I go upstairs. What started out as an experiment/shield against threats has become a full blown alter ego, and an excuse to wear my Dilophosaurus mask. If you’re a Batman fan, you know how alter egos can take on a life on their own. Paul Dini once said that Bruce Wayne doesn’t wear a Batman costume; it’s Batman that wears a Bruce Wayne costume.

I AM THE SYMBOL THIS TOWN NEEDS!!!!111!!111

I AM THE SYMBOL THIS TOWN NEEDS!!!!111!!111

Anonymity and pen names aren’t always “cowardice” or “uncivil”. There are a lot of reasons why someone may name themselves after a They Might Be Giants song, or wear a bat costume and roam the streets, or use a name that’s traditionally reserved for someone different from them. Maybe they’re exploring different facets of themselves. Maybe it’s for their safety. Maybe they want to see how the other half lives.

Maybe it’s just for fun.

* I can’t count how many times I got to know someone while using a gender neutral username, then to have that person be absolutely floored when they find out I’m not a guy. If my username is gender neutral, almost everyone assumes I’m a guy. Is it because the default is male, or is it just me?

** I know this is hypocritical. Sue me. If it means anything, I no longer commit sockpuppetry, and I’m sorry.

***I went out of my way to avoid referring to myself as either male or female on my old blog. There’s one very awkward post that I wrote entirely in the third person; hard to do when you can’t use gendered pronouns.

5 Responses to “Anonymity, Gender Experiments, and Animal Masks.”


  1. October 17, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Kaje —

    I have no problem with a pen name/alter ego whatsoever. And we have several frequent posters who are consistent with those names.

    There are people who use multiple names to post, sometimes to bolster their own opinion (lame), other times to make it seem like there are multiple people who share the same opinion (lamer), and then sometimes to attack someone else multiple times (lamest).

    These are the people that I have the biggest problem with.

    But in the end, I strongly believe that if you want to call somebody an SOB, it carries no weight if you have to do it from behind a hedge where they can’t see you.

    SM

  2. October 17, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    there really is a huge difference in the insults when your name is gendered female. they’re certainly more vicious. for some reason i didn’t think my internet name was neutral, but then i sort of figured it out, and then learned quickly how easily male becomes standard with androgynous names.

    in the last year i’ve gotten pretty serious about blogging, and i use my nickname rather than my real one because i didn’t want my personal and political beliefs to somehow get back to me at work (not that it should matter because it doesn’t affect how i do my job, but we’ve seen what happens when employers don’t like what their employees think. i once worked for a man who somehow found out i don’t believe in God, and then started making me do extra work, or keeping me past my shift, and making it utterly miserable to work for him).

    and i totally agree, that if you’re not making threats online, there’s no reason for you to have to drop the anonymity.

    i sort of like having an alter ego. plus, it’s a reference to a Charles Baudelaire poem, which makes my feminism ironic. yeah, i’m such a dork.

  3. October 18, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    I wish everyone could do an experiment to see what it’s like as the opposite gender. I have a feeling most would find the experience eye-opening.

  4. 4 Rawhead
    November 14, 2009 at 5:05 am

    It’s assumed that you’re male because everyone knows there’s no such thing as females on the internet.


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
    Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

Tweetin’ twootin’:


