08
Dec
09

A New Trend in Advertising: Alienating Half of Your Potential Market

Apparently Docker’s doesn’t want my money.

The bottom right corner is the best part. "Women suck! (Please buy our clothes)"

The bottom right corner is the best part. "You women ruin society what with your equal rights and crap...won't you buy our pants?"

Nor does Discovery Channel.

Nor does the Droid.

Nor does…whatever the name of this streaming video device is.

Huh! Christmas shopping just got a whole lot easier! Thanks guys!

10 Responses to “A New Trend in Advertising: Alienating Half of Your Potential Market”


  1. 1 Rawhead
    December 8, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    You don’t need any pants. Now go back to the kitchen!

  2. December 9, 2009 at 12:19 am

    You want me to cook without any pants? That seems a little…unsanitary.

  3. 3 Rawhead
    December 9, 2009 at 12:44 am

    I guess that depends on your hygiene.

  4. December 9, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I’m just repeating what they told me at Golden Corral.

  5. 5 Erika Whiteway
    December 11, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    *Thank you very much!!* I was hoping I’d encounter someone, somewhere who was perceiving ads like this the same way I do: TV has created a hostile environment for women. I sometimes feel when I’m watching TV that I am willingly submitting to violence, as a masochist would, so I move away from the medium; if the medium is the message, as Marshall McLuhan said in 1963, then television is telling me, both with programing and advertising, that I am worthless. I am so *sick* of tits&ass commercials! In fact, I am sick of sex being such a central theme of pretty much all programs and ads. Can there be worse shows to represent women than ‘Bridezillas’? Or ‘The Flavor of Love’, where moms pimp their daughters to 50 Cent? Or how ’bout the so-called ‘women’s show’,’Saving Grace’, in reality a *men’s* cop fantasy show with Holly Hunter perpetuating the lie that women her age look like they aren’t? Women in commercials are still home mopping a floor or picking up their kid’s room–please. I won’t buy ‘Swiffer’ products, ‘Wonderful Pistachios’ (*the* worst–they don’t even know their totally offensive dominatrix *gives* commands…), ‘Nair’, and I let companies know when I *like* the way they present women rather tan just criticize (‘there’s no such thing as bad press’).


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

Tweetin’ twootin’:


