07
Jan
10

Hold On To Your Pants, I’m Defending a Teabagger

Dear Globe,

I understand you folks have to make up titles for letters to the editor, and are under pressure to capture the essence of the letter in a three word blurb.

However, titling someone’s letter “Rape of America,” especially when the word “rape” or anything like it doesn’t appear in the text, isn’t cool. If Mr. Coalson wants to compare Obama to sexual assault, or Hitler, or black sitcom characters, then he’ll do so himself in his letter. You shouldn’t do it for him.

This is assuming he didn’t request that title; and even in that case couldn’t you have politely refused and tried to steer him toward something else?

Thanks,

Kaje

EDIT: Scott’s informed me that, indeed, it was Mr. Coalson who requested the title “Rape of America.” In that case, the Globe is forgiven and we can once again feel safe laughing at this teabagger’s typical lack of proportion and class.

9 Responses to “Hold On To Your Pants, I’m Defending a Teabagger”


  1. January 7, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Just checked his original letter, which he did indeed request be titled “Rape of America.”

    • January 7, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      Ah. OK, I take that back and lay the blame on Coalson, then. Sorry.

      • 3 ansonburlingame
        January 8, 2010 at 4:26 pm

        Hmmm. Rape is forceful sexual intercourse causing great harm to the man or woman being raped, or words to that effect, right?

        More politiely, rape is getting screwed when you dont want it, right?

        Is you objection to the term based strictly on feminist concerns, political correctness, lack of “politiness” or what?

        Given the second definition above, many in America agree that is what is happening.

        At least the title got your attention and you read the letter. Advetisers do that all the time.

        Anson

  2. January 8, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    “Is you objection to the term based strictly on feminist concerns, political correctness, lack of “politeness” or what?”

    It’s mainly a laugh to see oh-so moral Real Americans (TM) trivialize sexual assault, the Holocaust etc. while throwing their temper tantrums over losing an election. Admittedly, it’s also incredibly triggering, especially for someone who has actually lived through rape, or care for people who have (which obviously is not the case for you).

    “Given the second definition above, many in America agree that is what is happening.”

    Those people are idiots who should be laughed at.

    “At least the title got your attention and you read the letter. Advertisers do that all the time.”

    Well dang! That makes it OK then. Do you mind if my next post is titled “Anson Burlingame Supports Horse Abuse”? It’ll do publicity magic for both of us!

  3. 5 ansonburlingame
    January 8, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    Kaje,

    Now we are getting down to root causes. You wrote:

    “Those people are idiots who should be laughed at” refering to Americans that think they are “getting screwed” by a liberal government.

    I thought you were taking offense at the word “Rape”. Didn’t sound like laughing to me.

    When government starts to infringe on liberty I don’t think it is laughable and write accordingly.

    As for horses, be careful. I never said I supported animal abuse. I did suggest that government action to prevent it was questionable particularly when we have to ask the Chinese to pay for such action.

    First things first. Let’s fix human abuse then worry about the animals. Why are you in such a rush?

    Anson

    • January 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm

      I usually respond to stupid, evil, and stupid/evil things with snarkiness. I’m not seeing the conflict here.

      As for horses– I just randomly pulled “horse abuse” out of thin air. I had no idea there was an actual snafu regarding you and horse abuse.

      Incidentally, I also laugh at coincidences and self-incrimination. I laugh at a lot of things, really.

      • 7 ansonburlingame
        January 9, 2010 at 4:57 pm

        And your views on “stupid, evil, and stupid/evil things” are ?????..Please don’t tell me they are enlightened, correct and not to be rebutted.

        Anson

  4. January 9, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    In the case of comparing an election you lost to rapes and genocides? I’m going out on a limb and saying, yes, that is either stupidly evil or evilly stupid. Sorry, Charlie.

  5. January 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Well, I have never seen anything else from Anson Burlingame, but I think the sample above is enough for me, also, to find him evilly stupidly evil. And stupid.

    And I definitely like the part where he admitted that he does, in fact, place a low priority on preventing animal abuse.


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

Tweetin’ twootin’:

  • RT @billmckibben: When I read that permafrost is becoming 'Swiss cheese' and gushing methane, I say to myself, 'that seems suboptimal' http… 3 hours ago

