18
Mar
10

Day Three-ish of the Big Silly Jesus Circus: Freethinkocalypse

When I first proposed a Dr. Sharp field trip to the Joplin Freethinkers, we assumed we had a lot of options regarding which presentation we wanted to see. Our intent was to view the proceedings, ask questions, and mingle with the audience members; also to eat at Bamboo House.

When I got the schedule, however, I noticed that discussion was segregated into its own seminar, on the last day, at an inconvenient time. That’s what we get for assuming it was anything other than a brainwashing session. So Wednesday at 2:00 it was. Only five of the Joplin Freethinkers could make it. Jim Stone was also going to make one last hurrah.

This was the smallest crowd of all the presentations I attended. Before the show we looked at all the merch and replicas, and chatted with the audience and promoters. When we revealed that we were the Joplin Freethinkers, there wasn’t any hysterics or “I’ll pray for you”s. They were eager to hear what we were all about and chatted us up gladly.

As we were finding our seats, I happened to look up and wouldn’t you know it? We had a surprise guest- my Calvinist friend from Bible study! You probably know her as Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind in the comments. We all got acquainted and took our seats as Dr. Sharp took the stage somewhat awkwardly. This time, instead of notes I just recorded it with my camera’s video function. Of course, as soon as I got home I found out that I can’t upload video with my crap connection anyway, so you’ll have to make do with my transcripts.

The first question was from a man who had questions about radiocarbon dating. Le yawn. Sharp is very dull even when Gish Galloping.

The second question was from the JFT’s Rev Al. Unlike most of the audience, Al actually knows some things about radiocarbon dating.

Dr. Sharp: Anyone else? (Al walks to the mic.)

Rev. Al: I have to agree with you that they nobody uses carbon-14 to date anymore,they all use carbon-12 now, ’cause carbon-14 was found to be inaccurate, and carbon 12–carbon 12 is only accurate to about 50,000 years. Now, uh, as for the age of the Earth, they uh, have stopped using just uh, radiometric isotopes, and started using a radiometric isotope s–

Dr. Sharp (interrupting): (unintelligible) Do you have a question sir? Do you have a question? Get to your question!

Rev. Al: So uh, how do you reconcile that, uh, the earth is 4.45 billion years old because of the radioactive isotopes that is isolated from the surrounding rock via (?) zircon crystals?

Sharp decided to answer with a plug for books from the merch table (Starlight and Time by Dr. Russel Humphreys and Thousands Not Billions by Donald DeYoung), and had someone fetch Al a free copy of the latter. Sweet!

The next question was from a woman who wanted him to elaborate on Mt. St. Helens (since last time he kind of forgot until the end that it was the focus of the lecture). Woo. I could here Jim behind me scratching out more notes, and the occasional snort of disdain. During this, I finally decided what my question was going to be. Let me tell you now, it was a doozy!

Unfortunately, Dr. Sharp abruptly asked “next question” and before I could even sputter a note the next question was asked. It was about how Darwin affected Hitler. Godwin time. My buddy Randy loudly facepalmed.

Regardless whether or not Darwin was the driving force behind Hitler and the Holocaust (there’s considerable debate, as the Nazis cherry picked from lots of different fields, including science, Christianity and even occultism to fit and refine one messed up ideology), that doesn’t have any bearing on whether or not evolution was false. Germ warfare is used to kill people, does that mean we should discard the germ theory of disease? In any case, there was a lot of falsehoods here. For example, did you know that Darwinism is the root of racism? Huh! You mean there was no racial strife at all until 1859, and suddenly everybody started giving non-whites a hard time? When he was pontificating about Social Darwinism, he said it was a move from “Biblical capitalism.” Maybe that’s what he meant with the racism thing. “Darwinian racism” was a move from “Biblical racism.” I don’t know about Sharp,  but Answers in Genesis still advances the Hamite story of racial origins. Hurray for going back to Biblical precepts!

And suddenly, he was out of time. I sputtered and pouted, wanting to ask my awesome question. He then addressed us.  “You folks are the Joplin Freethinkers, right? If you guys want to set up something and pursue this further, meet me up at the front and we can work something out.”(my camera went out before this, so it’s paraphrased)

So we went out and schmoozed. Al and Sharp swapped cards, and talked about doing our own debate, in Joplin. We told him we’d talk with the board about it. I should have mentioned that his colleague Dr. Jackson had made his own offer on my blog comments. Ah well.

Outside, Jim and the JFT got into a debate with CaL that went on waaaaay too long. During pauses, I got everyone’s opinions. Jim and JFT thought that it was boring and infuriatingly dumb. CaL, who is a creationist and otherwise agreed with Sharp, thought it was really rude of him to cut Al off. “If he acts hateful toward you, he is sinning.”

This was my last seminar (one of the JFT made it to the last seminar: you can read his account here.) To celebrate we went to El Charro’s, thinking about debate possibilities.

I’m thinking the question should be “Did Parasaurlophus shoot acid out of it’s nose? Support your answer with original research.”

15 Responses to “Day Three-ish of the Big Silly Jesus Circus: Freethinkocalypse”


  1. 1 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    What? You’re not going to say anything really mean and sarcastic about me?

    You know what they say, “Talking snakes and magical fruit make more sense than mutating monkeys and magically morphing swamp moss”.

    Now are you going to be mean to me?

    Well don’t be. I’m tired and want to enjoy the rest of my day in peace.

  2. 4 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 19, 2010 at 12:36 am

    Well I’ll be a Monkey’s Uncle. Please don’t take that literally.

  3. 6 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 19, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Do I want you to be mean to me? Do I want battery acid poured into my ears? Do I want my cat Greggy to hack up a Texas sized hairball on my carpet? (for the second time I might add) Do I want to sit through another Methodist sermon where the pastor says “if I had only went to see him he might have been saved”? Do I want to listen to Glenn Beck telling me that he is a Christian and not a cult member? Do I want to trim Dad’s nose hairs? Do I want to do that fecal blood smear for cancer screening that Dad’s doctor has been asking me to get
    for at least 2 months? Is your dog pleasingly plump?

  4. March 22, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    “Dr” Sharp left a lot to be desired, however I think that he toned his routine down the day we were there, just because we were there. As Kaje knows I was a hardcore xian at one time, my first mistake was to read the bible from cover to cover, my second was to look for objective evidence to support the bible, after that it was all over with. Once you take that one step to learn evidence that you might not want to know, you can never go back and unlearn what you have learned. I say it was a mistake, it was a mistake if I wanted to remain a xian, but it is not really a mistake for knowledge is power.

    • March 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

      I wonder if that’s so. We only announced our prescence like, what, 10 minutes before the show? To a single audience member? Unless someone saw your pin or T’s faded Darwin shirt… maybe I missed something.

      Also, your last sentence reminds me of a GI Joe cartoon. That made me smile.

    • 9 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
      March 22, 2010 at 10:57 pm

      Rev Dr. Alan:

      The objective evidence that supports the Bible is overwhelming. Read from cover to cover there is not one word that shows any contradiction and every single page glorifies God as it is his revelation to man about himself.

  5. 11 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 24, 2010 at 3:48 am

    Hey Kaje, I wanted to elaborate on something.

    I did think that Dr. Sharp was too short with Rev. Dr. Alan when he got to the microphone to ask his question, and Dr. Sharp appeared to cut him off.

    BUT…This was AFTER Dr. Sharp had become aware of your blog post.

    So, On second thought…Christians are to be kind to others, but I can see why Dr. Sharp would have been short with a Freethinker after reading your blog post. I know that Rev. Dr. Alan didn’t write the post but, you know how it is, guilt by association.

    I don’t know of anywhere in the Bible it says that a Christian has to lie down on the ground and allow someone to
    kick the snot out of them, especially if it involves defending the faith.

  6. 12 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 24, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Also, on the Bible, you evidently haven’t read any respected scholars on historical verification of the Bible as well as that there are no contradictions in it, which is amazing in itself.

    I don’t consider Richard Dawkins a respected scholar. I consider him insane.

  7. 13 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 25, 2010 at 3:49 am

    Kaje,

    You left my house too soon tonight. 5 minutes after you left your ARCH NEMESIS, THAI BOY called.

    We discussed Martin Luther King, Jr. Very interesting. We will discuss him next week when you are here. I told Thai Boy that you had some evolution printouts ready for him.

    I hope you like the book you took with you. I will have the Collins book read by next Wednesday and then it is yours.

    Easter Sunday, do you have a family dinner? Thai Boy wants you here for a ONE DAY SMACK DOWN EVENT.

    ( Not really, I just liked typing that)

    He wants you here because he thinks you are funny and interesting and he would like to meet you.

    Anyway, Tina gave me some MASSIVE T BONE STEAKS FROM THEIR COWS, NO HORMONES, NO ANTIBIOTICS, GRASS FED. THEY ARE SO GOOD! I am going to cook them, maybe around 2 ish. I’ll let you know. If you don’t come over he will cry. Please, oh please, don’t make me sit through that.

    Also, I got him the funniest Christmas present ever, they haven’t been here since Thanksgiving, so he will open it Easter Sunday. Just for that alone it will be worth the trip.

    Also, next Wednesday, an event will happen at my house that will make your Freethinkocolypse look like a church picnic. Really. You can’t imagine what SORDID AND TASTELESS events are planned for that evening.
    Be here at 6:30, no earlier please, as I won’t be able to get everything set up.

    IT MUST BE A SURPRISE AND A SHOCK. I HOPE NO ONE HAS A HEART ATTACK OR A STROKE.

    Muwhahahahaha!

    (Just to be safe, I’m sending the cats away for the evening)

  8. 14 Heavin Bound
    March 29, 2010 at 4:52 am

    Kaje, are you gay or a girl? You don’t talk like any guy I know.


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

