18
Mar
10

Intermission: Scientific Methodology As It Pertains to Fried Chicken

I’m trying to figure out a way to upload video with my crap internet connection, and I’m running on fumes anyway, so here’s a brief intermission from the BSJC. I want to talk about the taste test in the Chicken Annie’s/Chicken Mary’s episode of Food Wars.

(Disclaimer: I am indifferent to the Annie’s/Mary’s debate. While I do love Annie’s, I’ve never tried Mary’s so I can’t really compare the two. My contention doesn’t lie with the fact that Chicken Mary’s won.)

I know this is a TV show taste test and not the James Randi Million Dollar Challenge, so a strict and elaborate double-blind setup isn’t necessary. However, there was one really huge flaw in the test that throws the results in question. I’m of course talking about the “impartial” judges.

If you missed the show, here was the setup. There were five taste testers. Two of them were “super fans” of the respective restaurants. I imagined they were included in case of the hilarious possibility that a “huge fan” picked the wrong chicken. The other three were “impartial”, but in reality only one could be called that.

See if you can spot the impartial one. One was a food critic from some big city who had never been to Pittsburg. The second was the sheriff of Pittsburg. The third was some old dude who was a “local celebrity.”

If you guessed tester number one, give yourself a hearty pat on the buttocks. What do the other two have in common? They both live in Pittsburg. I didn’t catch if those two have never eaten at those restaurants, but I really, really doubt it. That’s not impartial. What they should have done for all the testers was narrow it down to people who have never been to Pittsburg and never eaten either restaurant’s chicken. They didn’t even have to be food critics; I’m sure Bobcat Goldthwait could have freed up some time in his busy schedule. That would have effectively lowered the chance of bias.

However, the Food Wars crew neglected to notice or care about this glaring error. With that in mind, this test means nothing to me. I will probably continue to enjoy the Annie’s that my parents bring home. Even on those occasions when we find a wing that has a stray feather still attached.

fried chicken wing with a feather still attached.

Yeah... I wasn't joking.

4 Responses to “Intermission: Scientific Methodology As It Pertains to Fried Chicken”


  1. 1 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I am so grossed out by the feather. That is like those stray hairs on pork rinds.

    • March 18, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      That’s nothing. My family claims that the reason they don’t eat at Mary’s is because my uncle found a fried mopstring in his food. There’s no proof of this, however.

  2. 3 Calvin and Luther Will Kick Your Atheist Behind
    March 18, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I am also glad to see the post so that I know you didn’t run off the road last night in the midst of a narcaleptic fit and disintegrate in a flaming ball of fire.

  3. March 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Being a person of some years and bred, born and raised in Pittsburg, Kansas, I will share my favorite memory of Chicken Annie’s which is my favorite restaurant of the two. On Sundays my parents would take the family to Chicken Annie’s after church. Mom and Dad, being the Eisenhower era parents of martinis and cigarettes, etc., would order in hushed tones the “special coffee”. Being the oldest I was allowed to taste the “special coffee”. I remember it being served in the old Buffalo china coffee cup, thick and white and heavy. The special coffee tasted like wine, Diego Red to be exact. You young ones wouldn’t remember but this was an era in Kansas that forced people to drive over to Missouri to purchase alcoholoc beverages on a Sunday. So Chicken Annie’s served up something real special on Sundays and only to the locals. I’ll bet if Chicken Annie’s had slipped a little Diego Red to the judges they would have won hands down.


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

