29
Nov
10

Out!

Today marks the first day of my being a completely, 100% out atheist. Including the family!

You know what? It wasn’t terrifying at all. In fact, it was a huge relief. It certainly wasn’t so dread-worthy that it required over a decade of pussy-footing around. I feel like a dunce for not doing it earlier, at my own discretion.

When you’re in a closet, all you see is one door. It’s a big, imposing door and it’s right in your face. All you can think about is what’s behind that stupid thing?  What if it’s no good? What if everyone on the other side wants you to stay in there? Will it be like before?

At some point, however, that stupid door opens. You’ve hyped it in your head so intensely for so long that the reality is…underwhelming.

And then you blink and stand in the light and it feels so damn good!

And you see people that love you.

And there are more doors, stretching in the hallway beyond, but these doors are open and nonthreatening and there’s so damn many of them!

That there is the future, my friend.

The Out Campaign: Scarlet Letter of Atheism
If you’re in a closet, OPEN THE DOOR AND GET OUT. Don’t wait for someone else to do it for you, like I did!
15 Responses to “Out!”


  1. 1 Scott
    November 30, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Welcome to the “Out” world. As the “old saying” goes, you are not alone and those who mock or criticize you are intolerant bigots.

  2. 3 Calvinist of the Ozarks
    December 1, 2010 at 4:26 am

    What would Calvin say? Oh, I know, he would say this:

    “There is no worse screen to block out the Spirit than confidence in our own intelligence.”
    — John Calvin

    And Luther? He would say this:

    Be thou comforted, little dog, Thou too in Resurrection shall have a little golden tail.
    Martin Luther

    (The Luther quote has absolutely nothing to do with any of this, I just like it.)

  3. 5 Rawhead
    December 1, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Did you wearing a t-shirt around that said “FUCK GOD…” have anything to do with this sudden coming out?

    • December 1, 2010 at 8:21 pm

      Indeed! Someone was so incensed that they forwarded it to the whole family. It kind of backfired and I emerged unscathed. Better than unscathed. Anti-scathed.

      That’s on the condition that I had to remove the pics, though. Unfortunamente.

      • 7 Rawhead
        December 1, 2010 at 10:06 pm

        Yes… quite unfortuna…something. At least that horribly sexist t-shirt is no longer on sale, so something good came of it. 😉

      • December 1, 2010 at 10:53 pm

        It’s still on sale at the store, it’s just the blog picture that’s gone.

        And it’s only sexist because the way the mythology dumps on Eve (and strangely labels Adam as just a bit playing dupe), which is what the shirt is responding too, is sexist. Besides “Worship Adam and Eve” is way too wordy.

      • December 1, 2010 at 10:58 pm

        And I thought “unfortunamente” was Spanish for “unfortunatley”.

        Which turns out not to be the case.

        I’m kinda dumb that way.

      • 10 Rawhead
        December 1, 2010 at 10:59 pm

        Weird. I went and looked for it because I couldn’t remember exactly what it said and could not find it. Maybe they’re censoring you too! Or maybe I was just at the wrong store.

      • December 1, 2010 at 11:10 pm

        Er, yeah, I had a link to that shirt in the post…which I made private.

        It’s d’oh after d’oh today, I tell you what.

        I will email it to you.

  4. 12 Calvinist of the Ozarks
    December 1, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    Wait a minute Kage, it doesn’t dump on Eve, they were both equally guilty and no where is it written in the Bible that the blame is Eve’s only. If someone told you that it was all her doing then they don’t understand the Bible.

    • December 1, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      I know. But you and I both know that niether reality nor the actual content of the Bible matters to most Christians. It’s not uncommon to see Eve cast as the temptress of Adam, almost to the point where the serpent is uneccesary.

  5. 14 Calvinist of the Ozarks
    December 2, 2010 at 3:27 am

    I can’t believe I agree with you.

    AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

  6. 15 jaybee
    December 2, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I believe that people should “out” themselves for all of their political socialogical Political beliefs.
    I feel differently about sexual orientation as it is not a choice.
    But those choices of which are true choices, ye of little faith shall realize that you have plenty of company.
    And even in the bible belt.
    I lived in j-town a long time in the 70’s, nearly the entire decade. And it was a new experience for me having originated from New Mexico having been born in Germany.
    But, donn’t blame me for the german thing, I was born to an American Servicewoman.
    Have fun being out!
    your friend in New Mexico


Leave a Reply

Donate to the Kaje!

My Zazzle Store

My Spreadshirt Store

Help a broke blogger and buy some NSFW merch at my Spreadshirt store!

Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Join the best atheist themed blogroll!

Tweetin’ twootin’:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


